CALL TO SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION 800-223-2814 212-203-4795 800-223-2814 | 212-203-4795

NEW Immigration Executive Order Signed

NEW Immigration Executive Order Signed

[Immigration News]

UPDATE: On March 6, 2017, President Trump signed a new Executive Order that replaces the January 27 Executive Order banning travel from seven Middle Eastern countries and suspending the refugee program. The new order contains significant revisions on the original. The new provisions are as follows.


#1The order will take effect on March 16, 2017, allowing for a ten-day warning period.


#2The new order bans entry for 90 days from citizens of Iran, Yemen, Somalia, Syria, Sudan, and Libya. Iraq was named in the original order. However, that country has since been removed from the list. Iraqi nationals will instead be subject to additional scrutiny.


#3Legal permanent residents and those who hold valid visas will not be affected by the Executive Order.


#4Dual nationals who are traveling on a passport from an unaffected country will be exempted.


#5The Order will not bar travel by individuals whose asylee/refugee applications have already been approved.


#6The Department of Homeland Security may grant entry on a case-by-case basis to individuals from the six affected countries, particularly where an admitted individual is returning from a trip abroad or where refusal would cause undue hardship.


SevenSyrian refugees will now be subjected to the uniform 120-day ban, instead of an indefinite ban.


EightThe preference for religious minorities in the refugee admissions process has been removed.


NineAll other provisions remain identical.


We are expecting legal challenges to the Order as it goes into effect. PPID will provide updates as they become available.

Have questions?  Call our experienced New York Immigration Lawyers at 800-223-2814 .




Awards & Affiliations

Newsletter Signup

Check Status on Immigration Case